Second Skyhawk Fighter Squadron Formed

People, Places No Comments

The second Singapore Skyhawk Fighter Squadron, 143 Squadron, was formed on this day. Squadron 143 is the fourth fighter squadron formed in Singapore. Known as the “Phoenix” Squadron which consist of 9 A-4 Skyhawk and 13 pilots commanded by Major Fu Chun Hsien was formed to house the remaining Skyhawks from return from US. The 143 was base in (old) Changi Air Base.

Update: 143 Squadron was relocated to Tengah Air Base in December 1975. They were the first to operate the modified A-4 Super Skyhawk in the late 1980’s. From 2003, it was converted to F-16C/D Fighting Falcons.

Tags: .

Leave a Reply

Blog at Entries RSS Comments RSS   Theme: Basic by ThemeLab.