The Fajar 8 Were Arrested

Friday, 28th May 1954

Attorney-General Davis gave written sanction to prosecute the Fajar 8 - Poh Soo Kai (president of club), MK Rajakumar, James Puthucheary, Kwa Boo Sun, Lam Khuan Kit, Thomas Varkey, P Arudsothy and Edwin Thumboo (oldest – James Puthcheary, 32; youngest P Arudsothy, 19) for publishing the "Aggression in Asia". The Fajar 8 were picked up by the police. 7 of them were arrested at the University Hostel in Dunearn Road. Poh Soo Kai was picked up from his Katong home. They were charged in court. Bail of $1000 each was provided by Vice-Chancellor Sir Sydney Caine, who felt it was his duty to bail out the students involved. Lee Kuan Yew (honourary advisor to the club) represented the students in court.

Newer Log  1954  Older Log


Passion Made Possible.

Nation Building People