First Fighter Squadron Formed

Tuesday, 8th September 1970

The first SADC (RSAF) Squadron, named the The 140 Squadron "Osprey" Squadron. was formed. The new squadron operates 20 refurbished Hawker Hunter jet aircraft. The squadron operates out from Tengah Air Base.

The Singapore Government and Hawker Siddeley (UK) had signed a contract in July 1968 for the delivery of the aircraft in December 1969. The agreement was to deliver twenty-four Hawker Hunters - fourteen FGA74s, four T75s and four FR74As.

Photo Credit: Flickr.

Initial pilot training was provided by the Singapore Operational Training Flight based at RAF Chivenor. As a result of the purchase, the first fighter squadron, 140 Squadron, was formed at Tengah in which comprising both local and British personnel.

Newer Log  1970  Older Log


Passion Made Possible.