Singapore Legislative Council 1st General Election

Sunday, 21st March 1948

The Legislative Council General Elections was the first election to be held in Singapore when six of the 22 seats on the Legislative Council were open for popular voting, albeit only for British subjects. The election was announced on 1 February, and nominations were due by 15 February. The campaign period lasted for 31 days. Municipal North-East (two seats) won by John Laycock and Mohamed Javad Namazie. Municipal South-West (two seats) won by Tan Chye Ching and Nazir Bin Abdul Mallal. Rural East won by Sardon Bin Haji Zubir. Rural West won by S. C. Goho.

Newer Log  1948  Older Log


Passion Made Possible.

Major Events People Politics